TRUST AND WALK WITH JESUS

June 2, 2015

” When I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God, whose Word I praise, in God I trust, I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?” Psalm 56:3,4.
In 1942, Etty Hillesum, a young Jewish woman lived when Nazis were arresting Jews and led them to concentration camps. As she awaited the inevitable arrest with a fear of the unknown, she began to read the Bible, the above Verse. With absolute trust, she put her hand in God’s hand and found rare courage and confidence. Etty wrote in her diary the following : ” From all sides our destruction creeps up on us and soon the ring will be closed and no one at all will be able to come to our aid. But, I don’t feel that I am in any body’s clutches. I feel safe in God’s arms. And whether I am sitting at my old desk in the Jewish district or in a labor camp under SS guards, I shall feel safe in God’s arms. For once you have begun to walk with God, you need only keep on walking with Him and all of life becomes one long stroll “. Etty was a living courageous picture of the Psalmist’s declaration,” When i am afraid, I will trust in You “. It is quite a challenge for anyone plagued with fear. Moses’song declares that God is our Refuge and our only true Security. ” The Eternal God is your Refuge and underneath are the everlasting arms ” Deuteronomy 33:27. We can walk through life with confidence, holding the hand of our Unseen Companion, Saviour Jesus Christ.
” Dear Lord,
Walking with Jesus, walking everyday, walking all the way,
Walking with Jesus, walking with Jesus alone.
Walking in the sunshine, walking in the shadow,
Walking everyday, walking all the way,
Walking with Jesus, walking with Jesus alone “.–Amen.