THE LORD IS WITH US

June 14, 2015

” When the angel of the Lord appeared to Gideon, he said,” The Lord is with you, mighty warrior ” Judges 6:12.
Once, a mother asked her five year old son to go to the pantry to get her a can of tomato soup. He refused and said,” It’s dark in there “. Mom said,” Johnny, it’s okay. Don’t be afraid. Jesus is in there “. Johnny opened the door slowly and seeing that it was dark, he shouted,” Jesus, can You hand me a can of tomato soup?”. Though it is humorous, it reminds us of Gideon in the Bible. The angel of the Lord appeared before him and told him,” I will be with you ” and promised to give him the strength he needed to overcome the Midianites. But, Gideon’s fearful reply was,” My clan is the weakest in Manasseh and I am the least in my father’s house ” ( 6:15 ). Even after the Lord’s promise of help, Gideon was afraid and asked the Lord for signs to confirm God’s Will. The Lord addressed fearful Gideon as ” Mighty warrior “. It is because, one day, Gideon would become ” mighty warrior ” with the Lord’s help. Like Gideon, we too may doubt our own abilities and potential. But, let us never doubt what God can do with us when we trust and obey Him. Gideon’s God is the same God who will help us accomplish all that He asks us to do. We can face any challenge when we know the Lord is with us.
” Dear Lord, You provide me the strength I need to follow and obey Your Will. When circumstances overwhelm, I rely on Your strength to keep me going and I trust Your tender care. In Jesus’Name I pray “.–Amen.