SIAO-MEI OF MAINLAND CHINA

June 12, 2015

” I sought the Lord and He answered me from all my fears. Those who look to Him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame ” Psalm 34:4&5.
During 1966-69, in Main Land China, a five year old child Siao-Mei was in jail as the little girl had nowhere else to go. Her mother was in jail because she had protested against the arrest of her bishop. As they sat in their dark, damp cell, the mother spoke soothing words to her daughter. All the prisoners were indignant towards the mother on seeing the child suffer in the jail. The prison director said to the mother,”Don’t you have pity on your child? Just declare that you give up being a Christian and will not go to Church anymore. Then both of you will be free “. In despair, the mother agreed and was released. Then she was forced to shout from a stage before ten thousand people,” I am no longer a Christian “. When they returned home, the child who stood near her, when she denied her faith, said,” Mummy, today Jesus is not satisfied with you “. The mother explained,” You wept in prison, I had to say this out of love for you “. Siao-Mei replied,”I promise that if we go to jail again for Jesus, I will not weep “. The mother ran to the prison director and told him,” You convinced me I should say wrong things for my daughter’s sake, but she has more courage than I”. Both went back to prison. But, Siao-Mei no longer wept.